Those who know me know that I love photography and that I drag my trusted camera around with me always. To protect it I usually put it into a bog-standard black camera protection bag but there are two things I don’t like about those bags: the fact they are usually pretty ugly and also that they scream ‘expensive camera’ to potential thieves. There are actually not many camera bags that look pretty and don’t obviously look like camera bags, so when I was given the opportunity to review the Jill-E medium suede camera bag I was blown away both in terms of style and practicality. And to make things even better, they are offering a free bag to the winner of our 2014 New Year give away (details of how to enter below…).

Jill e photo bag

To test the Jill-E medium camera bag I took it on my recent weekend trip to Germany. I was flying with hand luggage only and managed to fit in my DSLR camera, some travel-sized toiletries, my laptop, travel documents, Christmas presents, iPhone, chargers and enough clothing to get me through the whole weekend. At first I was worried I wouldn’t be able to fit everything in, but I was surprised by how spacious the bag is. It also has a lot of additional front, back, and side pockets which are perfect for smaller items such as purses, passports, mobile phones etc. In fact, for those Dr Who fans out there, it had all the ‘bigger on the inside than on the outside’ properties of a Tardis!

I also took the bag with me to a photo-shoot in the German countryside and was pleasantly surprised by how well I could organize my kit (and as a German, organization is very, very important to me). The bag comes with padded dividers that can be fixed to the inside of the bag with velcro. This enables you to separate your gear and also protect it. You can use as many or as few dividers as you wish, depending on how much camera equipment you are lucky enough to own. I took my DSLR camera with a 55m lens, a flower hood, a telezoom lens, a macro lens, a wide-angle lens, and a flash with me. I also took some filters, a spare memory card and battery with me which fitted nicely into the little mesh pockets inside the lid. Inside Jill e photo bag

The Jill-E camera bag is both beautifully designed and highly practical due to its weather resistant suede exterior. The outside walls are also padded to protect the contents. The bag has dual handles if you just want to carry it in your hands or a padded shoulder strap. I preferred the shoulder strap as I occasionally found the dual handles got in the way when I wanted to reach in to grab a different lens. Apart from that I found the bag perfect for a weekend trip as it had plenty of room for all my things and protected my photo equipment at the same time. It is also great for people who are keen photographers with plenty of gear, but who don’t necessarily want the world to know they are carrying a lot of expensive equipment as it looks just like a normal bag.

me holding Jill e photo bag

Our exclusive New Year give-away

The lovely people at the Jill-E bags kindly agreed to give away one brown medium Jill-E suede camera bag worth USD169 to a lucky reader. For a chance to win this gorgeous bag simply leave a comment below. You can double, triple, or quadruple your chances of winning if you like our Facebook page, follow us on Twitter, or share this post on Twitter. I will close the giveaway one week from today and will contact the lucky winner who will be chosen at random via Punchtab. I hope you found this Jill-E medium camera bag review useful, and to those who enter the competition…best of luck!

 

Disclaimer: I was provided with the Jill-E photo bag in return for a review. I was not asked to write a favourable review and as always all opinions are my own.

 

About Tammyonthemove

Tammy & Chris are a couple hailing from Germany and England, meaning between them they are efficient and polite, but unable to talk about football. Find out why they stopped pushing pens around the British civil service to travel the world on their blog.

127 Thoughts on “2014 New Year give-away! Jill-E camera bag competition and review

  1. I’d love to win! Thanks.

  2. Keara B. on January 7, 2014 at 7:24 pm said:

    I would absolutely love to win one of these bags- they’re gorgeous! I’ve know for a while that I need a new bag to carry my camera and lenses, and this one looks perfect. Love that it protects my gear and looks good while doing it. 🙂 Thanks for a great review!

  3. Melanie F on January 7, 2014 at 7:28 pm said:

    OMGoodness, I would go crazy if I won this beauty. Awesome review Tammy! Thanks ya’ll for the chance!! xx

  4. I have the same problem finding a camera bag that is pretty and functional. This Jill-E bag looks great!

  5. Erica R. on January 7, 2014 at 10:49 pm said:

    I would love to win a bag like this for photography!

  6. Abayomi Koyejo on January 7, 2014 at 11:30 pm said:

    A bag with Great quality and durability …That’s just what i need

  7. Love how spacious it is and how it doesn’t exactly scream “camera bag!” Very cute!

    Look forward to following your travels in 2014, happy new year!:-)
    Jess @UsedYorkCity recently posted…Your NYC January 2014My Profile

    • Tammyonthemove on January 8, 2014 at 1:58 am said:

      Yes me too! There is plenty of room for everything from 11inch laptops to a camera with various lenses and other equipment.

  8. What a beautiful bag… It even looks like a great nappy bag – although Im way pass that stage it would be perfect for my travels! Yes please!
    Erin Bender recently posted…I Can No Longer Say “In 15 Years Of Travel I’ve Never Missed A Flight”My Profile

  9. That bag looks great! We’ve had the same conundrum – holding our camera in a bag that protects it but doesn’t scream ‘expensive camera found here!’.
    Emily recently posted…Chasing Chichen ItzaMy Profile

    • Tammyonthemove on January 8, 2014 at 3:13 pm said:

      Some camera bags or backpacks even say camera bag on it or have canon or Nikon branding on the bag. It couldn’t make it any more obvious, could it? 🙂

  10. Sheila Benjamin on January 9, 2014 at 12:39 am said:

    Oh I would love one of the bags and hopefully your next competition will be to win the camera to go in it!

  11. The usual camera bags really are ugly and I’m glad that photographers nowadays are becoming fashion-conscious hehe. I didn’t realize the bag was that big when you mentioned that you put your laptop together with your other stuff.. and christmas presents too, wow. I’d love to get one.

    • Tammyonthemove on January 9, 2014 at 2:52 am said:

      Well, they were small presents, but 5 in total, so not bad I think. My laptop is 11 inches and I think a 13 inch one might fit too.

  12. Natalie Lyons on January 9, 2014 at 3:52 am said:

    Love Jill E Designs. Very nice quality bags. Would love to win this one.

  13. Convenience, fashion, and functionality rolled into one. Love it!
    Jennifer Kimberley recently posted…dating advice and tips from JennyMy Profile

  14. This looks like a fashionable camera bag! I would love to win it.

  15. Amazing bag! I would LOVE LOVE to win <3
    Yvonne Ivanescu recently posted…Safer is Always Better: Travel and ContraceptivesMy Profile

  16. Sarah Daniele on January 10, 2014 at 4:34 pm said:

    love love love these bags! Could really use one of these and ditch my ugly Nikon bag. Thanks 🙂

  17. Hello, YES! I would love to win a Jill-E camera bag! I have a nice camera and a couple of lenses and no bag, so this is a needed item. Thanks for a great giveaway!

  18. Jessica on January 10, 2014 at 10:12 pm said:

    I would love to win this. It looks like the perfect size to carry my camera, lens and flash with just enough room left over for baby necessities. My nice camera gets left home all too often and I just grab our cheap point and shoot because I’m worried about damaging my DSLR in our soft structure diaper bag.

  19. Kimberly on January 10, 2014 at 10:20 pm said:

    I’d like to win this to use as a camera/diaper bag. Thanks for sharing!

  20. Shelbie Johnston on January 12, 2014 at 10:20 am said:

    Oh yes, it’s a beautiful bag~

  21. i would love to win one that would be awesome

  22. Šimon Slávik on January 12, 2014 at 10:53 am said:

    Of course i would

  23. I love this camera bag!

  24. Joanne Vanderheite on January 12, 2014 at 11:36 am said:

    Would love to win the bag. Thanks

  25. Jenny Newton on January 12, 2014 at 11:56 am said:

    I would love to win. Thanks for the chance!

  26. jjakins22@gmail.com on January 12, 2014 at 1:00 pm said:

    yes would love to win

  27. JoeyfromSC on January 12, 2014 at 1:18 pm said:

    Yes, I’d love to win! it’s a very nice bag!

    Thank you for the chance to win!!

  28. I would get rid of the sad excuse of a bag I have now and give my lenses a new, comfy home!

  29. Linda Peavy on January 12, 2014 at 2:12 pm said:

    I would love to win. My camera bag is the same one I had in college eons ago! It’s time to move up in the world!

  30. jeff rothrock on January 12, 2014 at 2:51 pm said:

    yeaaa)

  31. WENDI WATSON on January 12, 2014 at 2:56 pm said:

    yes ii would love to win ty!

  32. Melissa Mazzur on January 12, 2014 at 2:59 pm said:

    I would love to win!

  33. vsav12@hotmail.com on January 12, 2014 at 3:03 pm said:

    Love to win

  34. gladlerfox@sbcglobal.net on January 12, 2014 at 3:40 pm said:

    Yes I want to win! Will you throw in a camera too, please?

  35. KAREN DEGRAAF on January 12, 2014 at 3:40 pm said:

    id love to own one,

  36. Paula Gillespie on January 12, 2014 at 3:44 pm said:

    of course, I would love to, thanks

  37. I’d be over the moon if I won this, Sure can use it in my travels to the Northwest Territories This Spring … Thanks for the amazing chance!

  38. Robert Hauptman on January 12, 2014 at 5:35 pm said:

    I like the different ways you can organize stuff!

  39. damien on January 12, 2014 at 5:53 pm said:

    yes would love it

  40. I would love to win this beautiful camera bag
    Kathie Lanham recently posted…The sweet side of Lima – chocolate, coca, and the blood of a virginMy Profile

  41. love to win

  42. Oh yes please please please

  43. Crystal Kolocheski on January 12, 2014 at 6:45 pm said:

    I would love to win! Thanks for the chance!

  44. Colleen G on January 12, 2014 at 7:08 pm said:

    I would love to win this bag!!! Thank you for the chance!

  45. Tina Helmstetter on January 12, 2014 at 7:10 pm said:

    I would love to win this beautiful bag!

  46. Ancilla Jagdeo on January 12, 2014 at 7:19 pm said:

    Yes this would be perfect for me to travel with.

  47. LOVE this bag, would love to win! ♥

  48. Just got a new camera so this would be great to win!
    Deb K recently posted…Banish Boredom – Board Game Night Giveaway! 1/26My Profile

  49. marilynnawara@gmail.com on January 12, 2014 at 8:26 pm said:

    Yes! I got a new camera and haven’t found a bag yet — this one looks perfect.

  50. Teri Jakob on January 12, 2014 at 8:39 pm said:

    What a great bag! I would love something like this!

  51. Della Barker on January 12, 2014 at 9:42 pm said:

    I would love to win this camera bag!

  52. Jill W. on January 12, 2014 at 9:50 pm said:

    I’d love to win!!

  53. Karen Yawn on January 12, 2014 at 10:07 pm said:

    I would love to win because the bag that I now use to carry my camera just does not protect it. I have dropped it numerous times and have had to endure costly repairs to a very expensive piece of equipment, this bag would be a god send.

  54. AndreaH on January 12, 2014 at 10:35 pm said:

    This is a gorgeous bag! Yes, I would love, love, love to win it!

  55. Hedgehogi on January 13, 2014 at 1:37 am said:

    I would love to win! Beautiful bag

    Alholm.co at gmail dot com

  56. I would love to win this camera bag! I go hiking and birdwatching with my camera, this looks like a great bag to carry
    Kathy Detweiler recently posted…Home for ChristmasMy Profile

    • Tammyonthemove on January 13, 2014 at 3:39 pm said:

      This would be perfect to take hiking as you can also put some snacks and drinks in the bag too! There is plenty of room.

  57. Darlene Wright on January 13, 2014 at 2:13 am said:

    I want to win!

  58. Christine Paul on January 13, 2014 at 5:41 am said:

    Most definitely, I would love to win this bag.

  59. Donna K on January 13, 2014 at 6:46 am said:

    Yes, it looks very nice.

  60. Joan Garrison on January 13, 2014 at 6:55 am said:

    Yes I would love to win a camera bag.

  61. Jim Lipscomb on January 13, 2014 at 8:46 am said:

    I think my wife would like this color of bag. Thanks for the chance.

  62. Rajee Pandi on January 13, 2014 at 10:06 am said:

    I want to protect camera I would be happy if I win

  63. alena svetelska on January 13, 2014 at 11:47 am said:

    yes i would love to win

  64. Wow what an extremely versatile bag, and it looks great too! Thanks for the chance to win!!

  65. Annette on January 13, 2014 at 2:03 pm said:

    absolutely! It is stylish and pretty AND practical

  66. Yes please. This is the first time that I’m competing in a blog competition and one can so see why. The camera bag is both useful and gorgeous.

    Do count me in!
    Victoria recently posted…10 things to do RIGHT NOW instead of getting all upset about that post: “23 things to do instead of getting engaged before you’re 23!”My Profile

  67. Jeanna on January 13, 2014 at 7:19 pm said:

    I’d love a camera bag that is actually designed to carry a camera!

  68. kathryn piscitello on January 13, 2014 at 8:43 pm said:

    YES PLEASE

  69. Shannon Wilkovich on January 14, 2014 at 6:31 am said:

    This is awesome! I would be thrilled if i won this 🙂

  70. Melissa Butler on January 19, 2014 at 8:04 pm said:

    Would love to WIN… Ive been toting a back back pack camera bag for too long!

  71. Smart bag idea. Nice pockets, thieves couldn’t really get into the side pockets, only zips are really plausible. If I was a thief and saw that, I’d assume you were carrying sandwiches – and not any flavors worth stealing. I’d want to use that if my camera was say, over $2000, but my SLR is probably worth around £300 and I found that I could walk around with one all the time in Beijing and nobody would bat an eyelid. If your going to a country that is another language to you and your camera settings, a thief probably isn’t going to bother stealing a camera, with Swedish settings, that is only worth $500 (like a basic SLR). Who on earth would he sell it to? Thieves won’t risk getting caught to sell used SLR parts either. My advice is if you are the traveler who is often spotted with a massive telephoto lens mounted to a pro $2000+ camera, get one of these to hide your super expensive toys, but for those of us who are poor, a swanky bag to hide your camera that nobody wants, probably won’t help.
    Jes @ INTLAdventures Blog recently posted…Rock ‘n’ roll on the waterfrontMy Profile

    • Tammyonthemove on October 30, 2014 at 10:46 am said:

      Yes, it always depends on where you travel to. I would feel perfectly comfortable carrying my DSLR around my neck in say Tokyo, but not so much in La Paz, Bolivia for example.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

Post Navigation